About Me

Welcome To AMTutoringOxford:

I specialise in Maths tuition at Secondary Level, in particular at GCSE and A Level. I am an experienced teacher who has taught in local schools and headed three Mathematics departments where catering for individual needs was paramount and pupils were supported to achieve their potential.

I offer one to one tuition to:

  • Prepare for secondary education e.g. 11 plus entrance and common entrance exams
  • Support up to and during GCSE / IGCSE
  • Bring considerable expertise in all areas of A level Mathematics and Further Mathematics.

WHERE

I tutor in my home which is just north of Summertown, in Harpes Road

WHEN

I usually tutor on a Sunday, Monday or Tuesday ( with occasional exceptions ) from 10 am to 8 pm.

The sessions are usually one hour and the rate is from £60 per hour. This is comparable with rates of other similarly experienced tutors.

QUALIFICATIONS

B.Sc Mathematics  PGCE   M.Ed

CRB checked

Parent of two teenagers

Considerable experience teaching at a high standard.

WHY

The benefits of one to one tuition are quickly in evidence with secure Mathematics tuition. It is a subject that can relatively easily cause difficulty if the process of learning is interrupted or not suited to the pace of the individual.

I can cover areas missed due to illness, change of school or other circumstances. Students can also benefit from recapping if the pace of learning has not been appropriate.

The jump from GCSE to A level is considerable and students often find some extra support very helpful